If I cannot do great things…

If I cannot do great things, I can do small things in a great way.” – MLKj

Today is a moment in history. Some people are rejoicing, some people are grieving.

Today, I’m going to turn my head as the 45th President of the United States of America is sworn into office, fully knowing that the term “United” is a false statement.

Today, I’m going to wonder what I could have done better to demonstrate the humanity of the people surrounding me, along with the validity of their actions, beliefs, and thoughts.

Today, I’m going to rededicate myself to the small things I can do daily, in a great way.

Today, I’m going to speak the Truth.

Today, I’ll extend my hand across lines, be it religious, racial, or cultural.

Today, I’ll hold my head up high and smile at the people I pass on the street.

Today, I’ll wait that extra three seconds to hold the door open for you.

Today, I’ll buy you a coffee.

Today, I’ll hope for the best as the world embarks on a new journey.

And tomorrow, I’ll do my best to press on.

Leave a Reply

