You’ll Get Barakah

I’m sure that born Muslims hear this phrase, but I know that converts often get beat over the head with it:

“You’ll get more barakah for it.”

This past Ramadan, I heard it many times. You’re working 60+ hours a week while fasting and still have to be around your non-Muslim family? You’ll get barakah for it.

Why don’t you pray Taraweeh at home? Oh, it takes you 30 minutes to read two pages of the Qur’an? Don’t worry, you’ll get more barakah for it!

Your family doesn’t approve of you wearing hijab? Oh, I’m sure you’ll get so much barakah for that.

It seems like a simple, reassuring phrase, when in reality it just adds to the frustration.

I’m struggling, a lot of the time. When I’m struggling, sometimes I need reassurance in real time. Amanda, you’re doing the right thing. Amanda, I know it’s hard but it will get better. Amanda, let me help you practice your recitation. Amanda, is there anything I can do to help?

We as converts are quite aware of the promises for barakah – double reward for each letter of the Qur’an we struggle with. We know we receive rewards for patience with our family. We know…

…but that doesn’t make it any less frustrating.

Leave a Reply

